New DIY aquarium - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-07-2015, 03:24 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
New DIY aquarium

Hi, I posted this in a different section and realized that it probably should be posted here. First I am new to the hobby and I have some plants and they are growing great. Rotala Indica is what they said, but it looks more like narrow leaf rotala. I use liquid carbon for now. After my tank is cycled a bit more I am going to hook some C02 up to it. But I digress, I need to get the lighting down first.

I have a 55 gallon dirted tank and I recently just bought a shop light with two 32 Watt T-8 bulbs that are 6500k light frequency. It fits on top of my tank perfectly.

I heard that I needed 3 watts per gallon to grow plants appropriately. But the gut at the hardware store said that the T-8 bulbs put off more wattage than they say because of some conversion chart.

My question is: should I buy another fixture and put 2 more lights in it or is he right about the conversion? The reason I ask is because these lights light up my tank like a dang Christmas tree.

I currently dose my tank with liquid carbon, and I plan on going to c02 tank and regulator in a month or so. But yeah that is my question.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-07-2015, 03:38 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (3/100%)
"I heard that I needed 3 watts per gallon to grow plants appropriately. But the gut at the hardware store said that the T-8 bulbs put off more wattage than they say because of some conversion chart."

What is the conversion chart converting to???????
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-07-2015, 04:01 AM Thread Starter