My DIY ADA Stand design.. comments? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-19-2008, 09:43 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (3/100%)
My DIY ADA Stand design.. comments?

So I'm gonna eventually upgrade my 30 gal to a ADA 75P because i want the rimless look and a bit larger size. Instead of paying the insane price for an ADA stand, I figured I would build my own. I've been playing with google sketchup and built a 3D model of the stand design.

Since I've never built a stand before and am not a structural engineer or carpenter of any kind, I thought I would get some feedback on the design and tweak it as necessary. I modeled the design very closely to Jason Baliban's but with slight variations for extra support (I think? or maybe I'm just overdoing it).

Below is a shot of the stand at a slight angle. This is before any "laminate" is put on. The white boards are basically 3/4" plywood (not sure what kind of wood? any suggestions?). It will all be covered in a black/charcoal laminate once done.

This is a shot with the doors open looking straight in. I have a center support built from a piece of 3/4" plywood with the middle portion cut out like Jason Baliban's design. You can also see that I've extended the supports that he uses to the full length of the sides and back. The supports at 2x2's and pieced together like a standard frame would be. The back corner vertical supports are 2x4's, that will over-extend the joint between the frame pieces. Again, a suggestion on what kind of wood would be appreciated.

Here's a shot at the inside looking up to see the top frame and the center support's cutout...

SO there you have it. Please comment on this design and let me know what you think. Since I based it off Jason's design, I believe it should be very sturdy. Please suggest a kind of wood to use. Thanks in advance.