DIY CO2 question - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-26-2008, 01:50 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (3/100%)
DIY CO2 question

First of all, I'm new to the injection of CO2. I have been experimenting with a DIY setup using a couple 2 liter bottles and a recipe using yeast, baking soda, sugar and water. It was working fine for a couple weeks, but no measurements were taken as to how well (ppm etc). I made up a new bottle thinking the old had run out and got it set to a couple bubbles/sec into a fluval's intake. This ran fine for a couple days until this morning when I awoke to the smell of bread dough The pressure seemed to have been to great for the hose and over half the mixture was spewed over everything in the tank stand.

Do you think this was simple a blockage somewhere in the line? I was using an airline gang valve with the screw type adjustment and a check valve inline. I had tested the system for leaks a couple different times, so the airline was nice and tight in the cap, until this morning

Thanks for any info you can give.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-26-2008, 05:57 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Sounds like it. Some plans suggest cutting the tube that goes into the bottle at an angle. It helps to keep stuff from the bottle building up in the tubes.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-26-2008, 06:26 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (76/94%)
Don't try to ADJUST the bps of diy, it will never be consistent. As for gettin it into the tank, your bottle has to be tipped or tube too long. I make it so that the bottle is filled 1/2 -2/3 and then the tube only extends to the bottom of the cap. No need for more. There is no way for it to magically jump through the air into the hose, so it had to tip at some point.

EDIT, i see what you are saying. Ditch the gang valve. It is completely pointless to try to regulate diy, as it changes constantly.