Diy Light Fixtures.......... - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-02-2008, 02:44 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Diy Light Fixtures..........

Some of these diy lights scare me, none more then the odno t8's you can cause fires these ballasts get extremely hot under normal conditions.Electrical fires are fast moving extremely hot and extremely dangerous!I'm an electrician this I how I make a living I have exstensive training in the field and I would not overdrive lights or use light fixtures for an applacation other then what there intended for.Rember gfci outlets are not a full proof safe gaurd for diy electrical contraptions.I agree That light fixtures for the hobby are grossly overpriced but youre home and saftey are priceless.Although everyone on this forum is extremely helpfull and friendly do not play with electrical installations please take this serious. There should be a lock on these odno threads.I know the threads have good intensions but I donot think un-qualified people should be giving advice on how to jack up light fixtures.
This is a great forum with great advice but please get rid of the odno light fixtures.

Victor M. I.B.E.W local 98 philadelphia pa.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-02-2008, 03:38 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

That's why you take great care when you do so...
People who do it know that they are at a risk of damaging property, equipment, making more heat, etc.

It's almost like overclocking your CPU or GPU... you take a risk. It probably voids your warranty, a stupid move might make you lost a couple hundred of dollars, so you have to be careful.

Rena Filtstar #137!
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-02-2008, 04:32 AM
Anti iwagumi

PTrader: (113/99%)
is my DIY light safe? link..
i plan on doing 2 light sockets with a 13W bulb in each

post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 07-02-2008, 09:38 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (9/100%)