Canister filter on 2 nanos - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-03-2008, 04:44 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Canister filter on 2 nanos

First off, I'm a complete newb.

Second, is it possible to run both 5.5 and 2.5 gallon nano tanks on one Rapid's Mini Canister Filter? And if so, how might I go about doing this?

I've already got the Rapid's set up on my 5.5g nano, and the 2.5 nano is right beside it.

Thanks in advance!

Dylan
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-03-2008, 04:48 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (25/100%)
from what i understand of the filter i would strongly advise against it. that being said i don't use this filter.

"real cars don't have spark plugs"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-04-2008, 09:29 PM
Planted Member

PTrader: (2/100%)
It would involve some piping and check valves to control the flow... that being said it depends on what you have and how much suction the filter would have...the piping would basically be like a t-valve, one connecting to the intake and another t valve connecting to the return, however the return would have to have a check valve of some sort to check the flow on the smaller tank...

Kevin

P.S. why not just use small sponge filters or box filters?

Sheer Madness!!!

Last edited by psybock; 06-04-2008 at 09:32 PM. Reason: Drawing crapped up so I erased it...

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-05-2008, 04:46 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Well, so far I haven't been able to find any small filters around here that I liked to I thought I might be able to do something with the Rapid's Mini Canister Filter since I already had it. Will probably get a small sponge or box filter though if I can't make the Rapid's work effectively on both. Thanks for the replies though.
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-05-2008, 02:37 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed