Flat background help? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-18-2014, 09:25 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (2/100%)
Flat background help?

So I would like to make my own background to stick on the back (outside) of my aquarium. I've yet to see any premade ones I like and definitely have no interest in flat black, blue, or white ones.

I will not paint straight on the back of the tank and want something with a little more depth than a solid color. My tank is designed to look natural and a bit like a river, so I would like something that looks like murky green/brown river water with light filtering through. [ Examples from google: X X X ]

So, given that I am a bit of an artist, I figured I should be able to make my own. I am both a capable painter and digital artist, so I could either paint something or have something printed. But I'm not sure how to make sure it's waterproof and won't be ruined when I inevitably get it wet. Any suggestions?

Huge fan and collector of Asian catfish (particularly Bagrids).
My Display Tanks: 150g (+sump) planted tank, 60g (+sump) Sumatra blackwater tank, 30g Borneo blackwater tank, 55g hillstream tank, 30g H planted tank
In progress: 55g planted native tank
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-18-2014, 09:37 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (24/100%)
You could print it on paper and get it laminated but it will probably have a rippled and gloss look. You could also get it printed on plastic sheets

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

55 GAL DISCUS

post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 04-18-2014, 09:41 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (17/100%)