Converting hanging lights fixture to plug - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-14-2008, 03:33 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Converting hanging lights fixture to plug

Converting hanging lights fixture to plug.

You're talking to a major newbie here (someone who should probably not mess around with this stuff! But I'm on a mission!). I have a very dark "cupboard" in my kitchen. It really needs a light in there. I would like to hang a light that I have - but it is the kind that is hard wired. I have a plug kit that would work and I would like to convert the light to be able to plug it into a socket.

My question is this - Is it as simple as connecting the wires? What about the green/ground wire from the light? The plug kit I have is a two prong. I wasn't able to find a 3 prong plug with the toggle/rocker switch attached.

Any advice?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-14-2008, 05:51 AM
Planted Member

PTrader: (1/100%)
You need some wire, I call it cab tire. I think its a Canadian thing. Go to home depot or whatever you have down there and buy a piece of 2 wire insulated cord with grounding wire. You'll wire the ballast up, the ballast should have labels as to what wires are 120V positive and neutral. And yes you need to connect the green wire.

If your installing a standard light switch to turn it on, only the positive side is switched. The 120V neutral and ground are not.

Get a three prong plug, two prong plugs are not safe unless your using stuff with very very low current draw.

33G: Eheim 2224, Finally have pressurized Co2 and Reactor
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-14-2008, 07:44 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (2/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by colinthebassist View Post