Guide to DIY (LED) Moonlighting - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 48 (permalink) Old 12-04-2007, 07:27 AM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (2/100%)
Guide to DIY (LED) Moonlighting

Edit: I learned a lot more about moonlighting these past few months. There are many more ways to moonlighting the more I look into it. People here have been very creative and came up with a lot more ways to DIY moonlighting. This is just one out of many ways to do DIY moonlighting).

I'm a complete noob in lighting and electrical wiring, so correct me if I'm wrong. I'm only doing this for fun, and also because LEDs are relatively safe since they use very little watts and emit very little heat.

Why moonlighting?
After the project, you only need to see for yourself in person to understand how cool and beautiful moonlighting looks in an aquarium. It's almost as if you have another tank during night-time. The nocturnal critters come out and the diurnal critters start slowing down. The behaviour of every animal changes. Before the moonlight, the aquarium would go from noon intensity lighting to pure darkness in an instant, this caused the fish to go crazy, erratically swimming for a while every night. The moonlight helps the transition from day to night to day.

I've been really interested in moonlighting for a while now and really wanted to have it for my aquarium. However, some limits kept me from doing it initially.

Some reasons that kept me from installing moonlights:
1. Premade Moonlighting Kits are often very expensive, selling for $20-$40 each just for 2 LED bulbs. And then additional $20 something for extensions of more LED bulbs. For example: http://www.bigalsonline.ca/BigAlsCA/...wType=Category