Building a Weir and Sump...Any advice? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-21-2007, 04:56 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Building a Weir and Sump...Any advice?

Hi guys,

I'm new to planted tanks and have been a keen hobbyist for the past 2 years. I currently have a 70 gallon and 10 gallon tanks doing nothing and have been considering turning the 10 G into a sump tank for the 70 G.

I have seen many different ways of getting the water from the main tank to the sump, a lot have been pretty complicated using different types of pipework with complex bends and elbows.

I just want a simple system where the water drops from the main into the sump and is pumped back into the main tank. I have come up with a simple diagram to illustrate what my intention is.

I have two major questions which have been on my mind for a while,

1) Will this work?!
2) How do I go about drilling a big hole in the bottom on my precious tank!

I don't think I'd feel too confident about cutting into glass but I think this is the only way I can get my system going. What tools do I need to drill a decent sized hole into the base of my tank?

I'd be grateful for any advice, suggestions, alternatives etc on how to do this.

Thanks.

Note - PVP should be PVC!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-21-2007, 08:56 PM
Planted Member

PTrader: (11/100%)
I haven't done one my self but i have looked into it.

First: yes it will work. Plenty of people have done this kind of thing sucessfully.

Second: in order to drill your tank you need to find a diamond hole saw. here's a website i found while on the net: http://www.drillglass.com/biforho1la.html . It's important to do some reading on the technique required to drill a hole in glass before you jump in to it because if you aren't properly prepared you could ruin your tank

you'll also need a good bulkhead to make sure you don't have leaks!