Aquarium Hydraulics for Dummies - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-15-2007, 09:01 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (12/100%)
Send a message via MSN to saint27 Send a message via Yahoo to saint27
Aquarium Hydraulics for Dummies

There seems to be a lot of discussion about this all over the place. I thought I would state some facts as I have learned them studing as a civil engineer. I design bridge for a living now but the concepts are easy enough to remember.

The best way to describe how a pump works is to think about pressure. I pump doesn't push or pull water. All it does is add pressure to the system the pressure does all the work. When you see pumps rated by head all that is really showing is how much pressure a pump can add to the system. When a pump is at its max head there is no flow because the pump can not add enough pressure to move the water.

In a closed system you really don't need a lot of pump head because gravity is already doing 99% of the work for you. It is pushing the water through the siphon, the filter, the pump and all of the pipe. If you leave the pump off the water will go up the return tube until it reaches the water level in the tank that it came from.

The pump only needs to add enough pressure so the water can make it over the lip of the tank. The more you increase the pressure beyond this the greater the flow will be. When ever you have moving water there is always pressure loss from the friction of the water moving inside the pipe and traveling through various turns and bends. Let’s say that a system is setup up with zero losses, not realistic, the plumbing is full of water and the water level in the tank is 1” from the top of the lip. The pump would only have to add enough pressure to over come that 1” to create flow.