Planning a rack/stand for two tanks - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-07-2007, 08:24 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (67/100%)
Send a message via AIM to ringram
Planning a rack/stand for two tanks

Hello all,
In the next couple months, I'm planning on beginning the construction of a rack / stand that will be used to house my current 25g-tall as well as another tank (10-15g probably). I've done some searching on this board and found just one example of such a project, but I'm looking for more step-by-step as I'm not experienced in this by any stretch. I'm thinking that 2x4's will probably suffice for the corners/legs and after that, I still need to figure out an actual design. I'd like it to stand about 4-5' high, as it will have 3 shelves.....
top shelf: 10-15g
middle shelf: 25g
bottom shelf: storage, filters, etc. (or maybe I could put a door on the bottom area)

Any suggestions, or maybe a "must read" that you want to point out? I'm going to look around at some other sites when I get home. Perhaps APC or reefcentral.com would have examples as well. I'm looking for practical, but I also want it to look nice. Thanks for any and all suggestions!

90g journal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

---------------------------------------------------
SFBAAPS member -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

SAPS member -
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-08-2007, 04:52 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (13/100%)
Send a message via AIM to cookingnerd607 Send a message via Yahoo to cookingnerd607
I would use 2x4's for the legs, and for the horizontal supports. You could lay the bottom horizontal 2x4s on side. use some 1/2" or 3/8" plywood for a floor, which can be supported using 1x2s.