DIY CO2 question. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-09-2007, 01:42 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
DIY CO2 question.

I have been running two 2 liter soda bottles for three months now. It seems to work fairly well, I staggered the mixtures so I never have to replace them at the same time. Initially I tried running both bottles into separate bubble counters and then into a 3 way airline connection and into the tank. But I found the difference in pressure would slow one bubble counter right down, almost like the pressure from each bottle was counteracting the other. So I removed the three way connection and put both air lines into one single bubble counter and then from the bubble counter into the tank. I still seem to be having the same issue however. I was wondering how I could eliminate this?

If I can't figure out how to eliminate this issue, I will probably just switch to a single 4 liter juice jug.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-09-2007, 01:53 AM

Do you have check valves at the bottles? Having two check valves has been the only way I could run two bottles without losing pressure when changing the mix over in one bottle or the other.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-09-2007, 02:08 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (42/100%)
I used to use a diy bubble counter but have scrapped it on my DIY co2 tank, not much sense in counting bps if you can't control it. I was mainly using it as a gas separator, to keep yeast funk out of the tank, but I don't have that problem without one either. I suppose it might be the only way to run two bottles into the same line though, since the 'T' method obviously doesn't work well. Why not run two separate diffusers?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-09-2007, 02:26 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower