DIY Co2 ?'s; Video Included, Help Needed Please - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 09-14-2013, 11:38 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question DIY Co2 ?'s; Video Included, Help Needed Please

Hello everyone!

It has been 24 hours with my first Co2 attempt, and I need advice and comments. I'd appreciate help and input, etc. even if it is negative.

I have 7 years of fishkeeping experience, with 6 years experience of low-level maintenance plants (commonly found plants, lighting and liquid ferts. only).

Tank Size: 29 gallon standard, fully cycled, 7 weeks old

Water Parameters: Normal PH without Co2=7.8. 24 hours later w/Co2=7.4...Ammonia and NitrItes=0...NitrAtes=30...GH=180...KH=180.

Stuff in my tank that may (or not) effect the ph: 1 1/2 quickrete playsand with 1/2 inches landscaping gravel on top, one 4"x2" piece of driftwood, one 7"x3" slate of petrified wood.

Lighting
All-glass Aquarium T8: Full-Spectrum Daylight, 8000 Kelvin daylight color temp, 17w.

Lights of America 24": 17w, additional specs below.
Incandescent Equiv.: 75 watts
Color Temperature: 7800 K Kelvin
Dimensions: 2.5" x 24"
Light Output: 1,093 lumens
Color Temperature: Grow Light
Warranty: 1 year
Replacement Bulb: F17T8/GL
Assembled in USA

Co2: 2L bottle with 1 tsp baking yeast, 2 1/2 cups sugar, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1.5 liters dechlorinated water, running into smaller gatorade bottle producing 1 bubble per second, diffuser is an unused non-menthol cigarette butt. I also put a small square of plastic canvas above the bubble stream to catch some of the bubbles and trap them in place for a while. The diffuser is set under the outflow of my HOB filter. Unfortunately, I do not have a Co2 reader at this point.

I have included a video to show what the bubbles are doing, and have a few questions. The link to the video is http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6mbcV...ature=youtu.be

My Questions