What is a good wood Finish for Oak - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-26-2006, 08:13 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (9/100%)
What is a good wood Finish for Oak

Hello,

I am a real newbie to wood working. Even so I took a change and started building my own tank stand. I have use Oak for the outside visable surfaces. I am almost done with it and now I need to decide what finish or stains to use.

I am looking for suggestions thanks.

Rick
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-26-2006, 08:29 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (36/100%)
Send a message via AIM to JenThePlantGeek
If it were me, I'd just do a nice polyurethane seal. Oak has a nice natural color all on its own.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- VP & Horticulture Awards Program Chair
I <3 Eheim #195
Everyone seems normal... until you get to know them.
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-26-2006, 09:06 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (3/100%)
Send a message via AIM to turbomkt Send a message via MSN to turbomkt Send a message via Yahoo to turbomkt
I agree that it looks great natural. Most of my house (cabinets, entertainment center, desks, bookshelves, etc) are oak in a natural finish.

That being said...get the Helmsman Spar finish from Minwax (or equivalent).

Quote:
Ideal for: Doors, windows, trim, bathroom cabinets, bar tops, kitchen countertops and outdoor furniture

--Mike
Eheim Pimp #41

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 11-26-2006, 09:24 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (84/100%)