DIY sump design - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 33 (permalink) Old 07-05-2013, 12:31 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
DIY sump design

Hello all.

I am contemplating DIY sump design for a freshwater tank. the tank is a 75 gallon tank. I have a 35 gallon (36x12x18 LWH) which is about to be upgraded, and i plan to convert the 35 gallon into a sump. The main tank will be planted, and I will have injected CO2, for which I hope t make an inline reactor (I'll probably post that design with questions later :p). This is my first attempt at DIY anyting for my tanks, and my first experience with a sump.

i have a pump which outputs about 360 GPH. It is actually a replacement pump from a red sea reef system. I tested the GPH by pumping 4 gallons and doing the math. As a side not, I may be able to trade it for a rio 2500 pump (which I believe for over 700 GPH).

The baffles are 12 inches, with the raised baffles 2 inches from the floor. Water level would be at about 13 inches. My design has a 6 inch entrance chamber, a baffle allowing water flow over, a filtration chamber, a "refugium" for plants, and a pump output chamber. I attached a deign schematic.

I may place scrubber sponges in the entrance chamber. I also plan to use a filter sock.

The filtration chamber is 6 inches long (and 12 deep, the tank depth) and will start with a sponge for additional mechanical filtration, followed by biological filtration consisting of ceramic disks (such as Fluval Biomax), and at the bottom smooth river stones (around 1-2 inch) with lots of room for water flow around them.

The "refugum" wil have some fast growing stem plants and frogbit, as nitrate sucks. I realize this may not be necessary on a planted tank, but more plants means more nitrate reduction, and cleaner water. I will also densely plant is to allow more surface for biological filtration.