Threading aluminum square tube to attach star LEDs - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-01-2013, 04:03 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (2/100%)
Question Threading aluminum square tube to attach star LEDs

Hi All,

I am weighing out ways to attach star LEDs to the square tube. I am using it as a heat sink. The tube wall is 1/20" thick. I want to attach the LEDs with computer case screws (M3). I will be using insulated washers & thermal paste.
I am a complete noob with threads and taps.
1. Do I really need to tap the aluminum? Can I use a smaller size drill bit (i would guess 2.5mm) and use M3 screws without threading?
2. If I have to tap, what size tap should I get? I looked up the tap size sheets and it was too confusing to find a product online. (lazy me)

Of course I don't want to drill through both tube walls and use 1.5" inch nut-bolts.

The main reason I am thinking of screwing LEDs to the tube is so that I can easily remove the LEDs when I want to.

Thanks for your help!

-Ashish
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-01-2013, 07:12 PM

PTrader: (15/100%)
You can get self tapping screws that are about the same size as computer screws. That way you won't have to tap a bunch of tiny holes.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-01-2013, 07:13 PM
Planted Member

PTrader: (1/100%)
1/20" is fairly thin. This has advantages and disadvantages. The advantage is that it'll be less "effort" to work it (less material to drill/tap through). The disadvantage is, it's SO thin it'll be easy to distort and get a really poor thermal transfer beneath the LED.

Do you have a drill press? Have you done much metal work in the past?