DIY Cheap CO2 Reactor..(Well almost DIY) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-19-2006, 03:20 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (8/100%)
DIY Cheap CO2 Reactor..(Well almost DIY)

Well I'm new to this forum, but I've been studying here for quite a while. Although I'm fairly seasoned reef keeper, I'm new to planted tanks and have been trying to learn everything I can about it. After being rather displeased at the cost of CO2 reactors that are effective, I decided on a little DIY project. After reading the DIY forums and searching the web, I decided to make my reactor modeled after a protein skimmer for saltwater. For just $21.00 I already had a 'Current Fission Nano' skimmer in my possesion. These thing IMO make for really great CO2 reactors .

For just $21.00 these things are available all over the internet, and all I did to modify it was take out both of the elbows, flip it upside down, Remove the top (now bottom) cap, and remove the venturi tube from the pump. Yes, they come with the pump too.

The nice thing about this setup is that the pump outlet to the reaction chamber is offset from center. This causes the CO2 bubbles to whip around madly in the tube as it mixes with the water. You can actually watch as the bubbles get smaller. The setup is working really well with my DIY yeast/sugar CO2.

Have any questions? Feel free to post.

Last edited by Lycosa; 11-19-2006 at 01:24 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-19-2006, 03:49 AM
Planted Member

PTrader: (3/100%)
Gotta link for that skimmer?
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-19-2006, 05:33 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (84/100%)