DIY Finnex Timer Project - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 06-10-2013, 04:06 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
DIY Finnex Timer Project

Hi guys,

I'm looking into building a timing project for my Finnex Fugeray light.

I'm using the http://www.amazon.com/Finnex-FugeRay-Aquarium-Moonlights-30-Inch/dp/B008K23JE4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1370878888&sr=8-1.

This particular model has one power cord, and two switches (one on each side). One switch controls the white lights, the other switch controls the blue lights. Both can be powered at the same time.

I'm not an electrical engineer, but I have done a few projects in the past, and I'm a diligent computer programmer. So, what I want to accomplish, is cheap and efficient way to control the lights independent of each other.

My first thought was to build two circuits with some small timers, and DIP switches, to control each hour of the day. But this looked like a bit more work than I wanted to put in.

My second thought was to pull in a cheap microcontroller (PIC16F) to handle the dirty work. This would work well, but it raises the barrier of entry for those who aren't familiar with programming microcontrollers. Plus it raises the cost a bit.

I'm settling on the fact that I might use an Arduino, since they're a bit more ubiquitous now-a-days, even though they're more expensive.

Some of the thoughts that I'm sitting with, is if an Arduino is used, we could actually get past the hardware required to manually set the time (moving switches and such), and just use a web interface. That would give more granularity for times, and allow for better patterns, if you wanted to have your lights change to emulate seasons. Doing that further increases the price, as you'll have to get a wireless/ethernet shield for your Arduino.