Build help: Large "all in one" Aquarium Rack? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-01-2013, 05:44 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
Question Build help: Large "all in one" Aquarium Rack?

I am not entirely inexperienced with power tools and builds but I am not a structural engineer either. I was hoping some of you good folks could help my DH and I come up with a good build for my office/walk-out basement stand.

Here is my less-than-professional Paint picture:

It's extremely basic because we can't agree on how it should be built to hold the weight. I intend to have 10 gallons or 20 gallons at the top and bottom intended for breeding/propagation and two 75 gallon or 80 custom built tanks as show tanks. I think 24" will be the depth. We have a laundry/utility/bathroom room behind this wall which has plugs/plumbing and the ability to access the tanks somewhat from behind. The floor is concrete as it's basement level.

I wanted to leave room to access the tanks from the front and I left enough room to hang lights for the 75s as I enjoy planted freshwater aquariums. My DH gets the spare 75 and stand for his reef tank if we build this so he's excited to get this going

Anyway, I came up with a few ways to build it and so did he but I think he's over-complicating it and he thinks my way requires too many separate cuts... We both want to use wood to build it. We aren't welders

How would you approach this build?

Thank you for your help and kindness!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-01-2013, 05:55 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (18/100%)
Sweet looking sketch. If you aren't 100% worried about the looks but want a solid sturdy shelf, take a look at my [grow] link in my sig. Cinder blocks and 2x6s (I think) work great!

[50g][
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
][