sliding glass top **how to** - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 58 (permalink) Old 05-30-2006, 09:56 PM Thread Starter
Everyone has an opinion

PTrader: (88/100%)
sliding glass top **how to**

Anybody have or made a sliding glass top for their tank? I want to make sliding tops and get away from hinged.....DC

Last edited by DiabloCanine; 06-03-2006 at 07:22 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 58 (permalink) Old 05-31-2006, 09:25 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (30/100%)
I've never done it before, but it sounds like a great ideal. I can't work around the hinged ones well, and I usually put them on the ground while I work on my tanks and eventually I end up stepping on them and breaking them. I hope you figure out a way to do it...
post #3 of 58 (permalink) Old 05-31-2006, 09:49 PM
Are these real?

PTrader: (192/100%)
When my hinged tops broke, I cut glass pieces a little bigger so the front one rests on top of the back piece. Then I would slide them back... Only problem is if there is water involved, they start to stick to each other and it can be a little difficult to get them to let go.

Now I am back to a flat two piece top where I use a little rubber sucker to remove the front piece.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 58 (permalink) Old 06-02-2006, 07:07 AM Thread Starter
Everyone has an opinion

Well, I have too much humidity in my house with 12 tanks and need to reinstall all the glass tops. I couldn't open the hinged ones because they hit the lights so I took them off. Guess I'm not the only one that has stepped on and knocked them over, the ones that weren't broken I gave away. Since I need to buy all new glass anyway, guess I'll figure out a way. Thought for sure this wasn't a novel idea.....DC