DIY pH Contorller - New and Improved - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-29-2006, 08:57 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (0/0%)
DIY pH Contorller - New and Improved

I've been tinkering with DIY controllers for the last two years and I've built a lot of prototypes and followed a lot of plans somewhat unsuccessfully at times and this is the best I can offer for my effort to date.

The meter portion of the controller is a modification of plans provided by National Semiconductor. It uses an ultra low current op-amp (LMC6001). Their plan uses +/- 5VDC so the pH is read out in tenths of a volt, e.g. 0.7 volts is a pH of 7. I didn't like that so I desigend the circuit to run off of +/- 12 VDC. I had to make adjustment to the resistor values so that 1 volt is 1 pH unit and I've provided the equations I used iterate resistior values in a spreadsheet to get a workable combination. Rather than using a precision voltage control diode (I burned my last one up), I decided to simply use a red LED, which seems to work.

The output goes into a comparator (not an op-amp). The set point for the pH is provided by a precision voltage regulator that is adjustable. When I set it at 6.6 volts, it stay put and may only drift 10 or 20 milivolts. Hysteresis is provided by a potentiometer and a resistor in series to give me 0.02 to about 0.12 volts offset. I can control a range in pH of 0.04 with no problem.