retrofit for eclipse 12? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-09-2005, 05:30 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (2/100%)
retrofit for eclipse 12?

Hi, I have been thinking about retrofitting the lights on my eclipse 12 so that I can grow some higher light plants. I am a poor college student : ) so I don't have much money at all. What do you guys think my best options are?
My aquarium currently has 13w for 12 gallons, so that's pretty sucky. I found a retrofit kit here: http://www.hellolights.com/13wretrokit.html What do you think? Bad/good/not enough light, etc. Would I be able to make my own kit from stuff from Home Depot or Walmart? What is the best deal? Also, How would I go about installing this in my aquarium?

Any help is really appreciated! Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-09-2005, 06:15 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (5/100%)
Both your existing light and the retrofit are 13W. Are you replacing your existing light, or do you have room to add another?

Quite a few people have successfully driven fluorescent lights at up to 4x rated power for additional light. The technique is called ODNO and you'll find lots of info if you search for that term.

I've also introduced the idea of using the ballasts from those little screw-in spiral fluorescents that are made to replace regular incandescents. For example, you can use a 23W ballast on your 13W light. These lights are available cheap (less than $10) or even free if you already have one that's burned out or is starting to get old. Might be worth a look if you are comfortable with some simple electrical work and making a sealed enclosure for the ballast. Details here.
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 12-09-2005, 08:11 PM
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
I just finished retro-fitting mine and went the same wattage as you want to. I will post some pics later to show off/ let you see if you want to go the same way.