Help with my "Sugar&Yeast" c02 generator plz - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-10-2005, 01:31 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (0/0%)
Help with my "Sugar&Yeast" c02 generator plz

Hi all, this is my very first post. After searching the internet for hours, I finnaly hit the jackpot when I stumbled onto this web site. Everyone here seems to know quite alot about these "yeast and sugar" c02 generators.
I don't have much money, and I cant afford to buy a c02 tank. I was very exited when i found out this extreamly cheap method of making c02, and It would greatly appreatid if someone could answer a couple questions I have...

To begin, I have a 75 gallon tank that will be lightly planted. All my plants are currnetly dying, (probably because im very new to this whole aquadic plant thing.)

I made the mixture of approximitly 1 1/2 cups of sugar, with 1 TSP of yeast. Mixed it, and put it in a 4 liter milk jug. The mix has been sitting for about a day and a half, and I can only get 1 bubble every 10 seconds. Compared to other reports of having up to 6 bubbles, this seems like it's not working...

PS.. I've made sure there are NO leaks in the air tuubing or sealent.. Any sujjestions will be greatly appreteated..
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-10-2005, 03:06 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (3/100%)
IMO, you will not be able to succeed at DIY co2 in a 75g tank. Even if you get some good production you will have algae blooms as those good productions dwindle down. Even if you get a routine down, it will be a pain in the rear routine.

If you cant afford pressurized co2 then look into doing a non-co2 tank.