Preventing CO2 loss in a multi tank system - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-28-2011, 03:11 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Lightbulb Preventing CO2 loss in a multi tank system

Hi all,
I'm new to this forum and planted tanks, so I thought I'd get everyone's advice before i got ahead of myself. I have a few years of reef aquarium experience, so I'm not totally sure all of my ideas from that side of the hobby will be transferable.
I found a bunch of tanks for cheap on craiglist, so rather than buy one larger tank I have several smaller ones, which actually suites my purposes better, because I'm planning on breeding Colombian or German rams and a nursery and grow out tank would be nice.
I'm planning on running 2 X 2 liter DIY reactors. The plants I'm growing will likely be amzaon swords, java fern, and some Annubias sps. With all the plumbing that will be going on, I'm trying to prevent as much disruption of the surface as possible. The basic idea is as follows: Water goes into a 40 gallon long and then overflows into a 10 gallon below it. From here a siphon takes it to an adjacent 10 gallon which houses heaters, etc, and a return pump (around 200 GPH) which pushes it into a 30 gallon. The 30 gallon has a siphon which transfers its out flowing water to the 40 gallon.
The overflow box will be adjusted low enough that there is no "waterfall" as water leaves the tank and enters it, but it will be positioned high enough that if the power goes off, the siphon in the elbow piece going to the back side of the box will not break. My question is how can I reduce surface agitation in the drain from the back box into the 10 gallon tank below? any DIYourselfers out there think they can help?