LED my way - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 32 (permalink) Old 06-17-2011, 07:15 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (0/0%)
LED my way

Not sure where to start here, but I wanted to share in hopes that it may spark some ideas in others.

So, I have this 70 gallon bowfront corner tank that I've been planting since I got it some 8 years or so ago. I've always been disappointed with the light I was able to get into it due to the bulky frame design and complex footprint.

Long story short, after some trial and error and mostly unsatisfactory results using more conventional solutions, about six months ago I settled on designing and building a DIY LED fixture.

I had several goals.
-1st and foremost was to provide good color rendering and high PAR levels throughout the tank
-2nd, I wanted to save energy compared to the ~250 watts of power compact lighting I was using at the time.
-3rd, I wanted to reduce maint. cost in the form of bulb replacements.
-4th, I wanted to have the ability simulate a dawn/dusk effect.
-5th, I wanted to reduce the audible noise.
-6th, I wanted to reduce heat transfer into the water column.

Much more to follow...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 32 (permalink) Old 06-21-2011, 07:08 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

First thing I wanted to do was see what I needed to produce good color. My very first look was to use a philips 120v LED PAR38 spot to get an idea of color and number of LEDs/lumens I would ultimately need. This test showed that a cool white alone washed out the color of my fish (white cloud mountain minnows) but provided good general light and excellent shimmer.

After looking at various options, I decided to use the LedEngin white. I liked their glass primary optic, spectrum, factory-soldered star (reliable thermal data), and long lumen maint. projection.

After that, I ordered a selection of colors to span the entire visible spectrum.