Steel stand question. - The Planted Tank Forum
 4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 07-15-2020, 03:03 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Steel stand question.

Hello, i'm completely new to building stands, and i don't know much.. I kinda need some help finding right steel size, and thickness.

My aquarium is about 50 gallon.(190L) size 33"x15"x20" (83x38x50Cm) Stand will be about same size BUT 40" (100Cm) high

Was thinking making stand from square steel tubing.. But i don't know much about steel structural strength.

Should i build from 2"x2" 1/8" thick? or Will 1.5"x1.5" 1/8" do the job?

I want the stand to be very, very strong, and safe..
( I will be adding thick wood on top of stand. And 3x wood shelves in middle on chains, that will be attached inside of top frame 4 corners.)

Thanks for any tips in advance.

Design shown in images:

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 07-15-2020, 03:20 PM
Algae Grower

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishess View Post
Hello, i'm completely new to building stands, and i don't know much.. I kinda need some help finding right steel size, and thickness.

My aquarium is about 50 gallon.(190L) size 33"x15"x20" (83x38x50Cm) Stand will be about same size BUT 40" (100Cm) high

Was thinking making stand from square steel tubing.. But i don't know much about steel structural strength.

Should i build from 2"x2" 1/8" thick? or Will 1.5"x1.5" 1/8" do the job?

I want the stand to be very, very strong, and safe..
( I will be adding thick wood on top of stand. And 3x wood shelves in middle on chains, that will be attached inside of top frame 4 corners.)

Thanks for any tips in advance.

Design shown in images: