full length hob filter. - The Planted Tank Forum
 3Likes
  • 2 Post By deltagraphic
  • 1 Post By AdamTill

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-09-2020, 03:20 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question full length hob filter.

Hey all, this is my first time posting after reading this forum for years. I'm finally getting around to setting up my 55 gal display tank for the living room and am planning to go all out on it. I intend to keep it low-tech (in the sense of no co2) but fairly involved on the diy side. I've been kicking around the idea of building a hob filter that runs the entire length of the tank and empties on the opposite side as the power-head. Most of this would be filled with ceramic media and vining plants that will trail up a lattice on the wall. My plan was to build it out of acrylic and keep it pretty narrow (2-3 inches front to back and 4-6 inches deep). Mind you, I'm not doing this to super-charge my filtration and keep 7 arowanas and a stingray in a 55, I'm just interested in having space for plants all across the back and generating a gentle right to left current in the tank.

I've been keeping fish since the 90's and I'm pretty confident with every other aspect of this build but haven't seen anyone else using a filter set-up like this and am wondering if there is some mechanical issue I am failing to account for. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
hygropunk and Desert Pupfish like this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-17-2020, 11:54 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (4/100%)
It sounds like you're building a basic sump that just happens to hang on the back of the tank. As long as it doesn't get too large/heavy for the glass the tank is built from I don't see any problem with it. Depending on how much flow you want through it, you could even make it air driven for simplicity.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-18-2020, 01:37 PM
Wannabe Guru