Need help with DIY mini pond! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-21-2019, 11:08 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (0/0%)
Need help with DIY mini pond!

Hi all,

Thinking of setting up a mini pond in a 20-25ish gallon bucket/pot on my balcony. I’ve done some research on how to set one up but its my first time and I still have questions!

I want to have some plants, maybe a few fish and a little waterfall that spills water into the bucket from the backside.

1. Does the pond need a filter? I’ve heard both yes and no, so I’m a little confused about that. I’m hoping to avoid building a diy biological filter because I’ve watched some tutorials on YouTube on how to do it and they seem quite complicated and require a lot of parts I don’t have. I do have extra ceramic ring filtration media from my fish tank though.. and a sponge filter and some air stones..would any of these things suffice?

2. What kinds of plants would do best in a pond setting? Shooting for small-medium sized plants since my bucket is smaller. Any ideas?

3. Would only having a fountain pump be enough for a waterfall effect?

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-22-2019, 05:02 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (0/0%)
I've never run a pond that small. All of mine have been 100s-1,000+ gallons. But at 25 gallons it's basically a top-view aquarium. Not a lot of difference in what's required.