DIY LED for 120 Gallon Tank 72" long - The Planted Tank Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By jeffkrol

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-10-2019, 09:29 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
DIY LED for 120 Gallon Tank 72" long

Hello guys, i'm looking for guidance on this build because i'm a novice when it comes to DIY LED. I decided to go with this route because light fixtures on the market that have cool functions but do not have enough power for what I want to grow. I am not willing to buy multiple fixtures to get the lighting power I need. I would rather build one fixture that can do the job. I plan to use pressurized CO2 with high lights.

What I want from my LED fixture to be able to do is be able to transition to different modes of light from sunrise, mid-day, sunset, and moonlights (with cycle) all on its own based on the time. I looked at HurricaneX digital LED controller and that seems to be what I want in a light controller. I was thinking of using at most 7 channels. I'm hoping to get a parts list together. Then see what the total looks like for what I am after. If it is too much I might compare prices for certain parts or shop around.

Lumen Goal: 33500 lumens
Tank area: 72" X 16" = 1152 sq. inch
LSI Goal: 28 - 32 LSI High light

Power Supply: None at the moment, need to decide how many LEDs I need
Heat Sink: Still looking
- LED group buy: 238$
- Heat Sink USA 72" X 5.8": 148$
LED Driver: ??????
Light Controller: Hurricane X from Steve's LEDs : 75$

Ch. 1 - Bridgelux Vero 18 2700k 90 CRI
Ch. 2 - Bridgelux Vero 18 5600k 90 CRI
Ch. 3 - Amber
Ch. 4 - Red or Deep Red
Ch. 5 - Moonlight
Ch. 6 - Cyan
Ch. 7 - Blue or Royal blue