Making DIY Driftwood from dead saplings? - The Planted Tank Forum
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By Soulie
  • 2 Post By PlantedRich

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 02-19-2018, 04:34 PM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)
Making DIY Driftwood from dead saplings?

The forest behind my house has a ton of small trees 2-4" that died, probably because lack of light from too many established trees.

I don't know how to identify tree types, but they appear to be "hardwood" (not pine). If a tree is deciduous, does that mean it is a hardwood?

If I cut and then break these down into pieces, what else do I need to do to use them in tank? Remove the bark? Soak in a water bin? boil?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-12-2018, 05:49 PM

Hey Chris,

I have some experience, but not a ton. I'll give this a go. :-)

Deciduous = hardwood, yes. Although to be fair, hardwood varies quite a bit in properties based on the tree, as you might expect. As for identification, the bark tells you much. Not sure where you're from but I bet there's people around you that know what types of trees are out there.

I've harvested wood for aquaria before and would just note a few things. First, some wood is not suitable as it rots extremely quickly, carries pathogens, or might actually be poisonous. Basically stick to beech, oak, cherry alder (which grows by streams where I am from).

I've boiled wood for a while in water (several hours) to help clear out pathogens and leech tanins. I've also baked it in an oven at a low temp (200, maybe?) for a half a day or so.

I hope that helps.

Good luck!
ChrisX and ChrisX like this.

"The clearest way into the Universe is through a forest wilderness." -John Muir
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 03-12-2018, 07:20 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (2/100%)