DIY co2 q's - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-10-2004, 03:44 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
DIY co2 q's

Im going to use diy co2 dor my 20 gallon and have a few q's

It has 108 watts of lights but i can remove one bulb to make it 72 if this is too high? how many and what size bottles shall i use 2 x 2 litre?

Ive read rex griggs site buts it doesnt seem to be loading for me at the moment, how exactly do you connect the airline to the fermentation bottles?

Also on rex griggs site it has a check valve for each bottle, is there any reason why you just cant use a single checkvalve higher up the tubing just before the airline enters the tank?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-10-2004, 06:36 PM

Seeing I'm an expert with my first diy co2 for a 2 gal just finished last night... (Ok - I'm no expert, but I have a 20 gal I'll be doing this with in a
few weeks.)

I was going to go with just 1 bottle, but now I think I'll use two and stagger the start day of the second tank a week and a half later to avoid an initial `blast` of co2.

108 watts! Thats alot unless you want to boil fish! Yea - go with the 72.

Theres a good, real simple article on this site - but all you do is drill a
hole in the cap of the bottle (not too big) put the tubing in the hole about
a half inch and use silicon sealant on both inside and out to seal it up good.

Checkvalve I see no reason why you couldn't use just one - but I'd get some other opinions - heh. Good luck.
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-10-2004, 08:25 PM

i am just runing a 2l bottle on my 29 gallon and every day my plants pearle heavly near 12:00 and 3:00 my lfs but i also have 160 watts of light good luck
bulding it happy plant growing [aB]

post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-10-2004, 09:01 PM

aquarium boy - you doing 2 cups sugar and 1/4 tsp of yeast? How long does your setup go before needing a refill?