Help me DIY a nice tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-15-2010, 03:15 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (10/100%)
Help me DIY a nice tank

Ok guys, I'd like to build myself a nice, completely custom tank. As of now, I plan for this to be a sort of project to help occupy myself over the coming Christmas break, so I can be relatively productive. The only problem is I have no experience in building aquaria, or really in anything related.

I have read through Scolley's sticky at the top of this page, and a few other articles scattered over the interwebs, and so I've got a grip on the basics of what will need to be done. I do need help with some details, though, and I expect more experienced advice to continue to be useful.

So here we go. As of now, this is completely in the brainstorming/designing stage. My requirements for this tank are that it must be all glass, and that all equipment must be hidden. I want this thing to just look like a box of water, with no hoses or tubes running into it. So, it will obviously need to be drilled, and that leads to my first question:
  • How much space needs to be left between holes drilled for bulkheads? Like, if a 1" bulkhead needs something like a 1.75" hole, what's the closest two 1.75" holes could be from each other?
Beyond that, for now, I'm just looking for anyone's ideas on how to design a tank to completely hide equipment. I don't care even if it's designed around one general hardscape. I'm going all out with one design, that'll obviously be one I like. So if any of you out there have something in mind you can describe, draw up in paint, or google sketchup, or what-have-you, that'd be awesome. This is your chance to live vicariously through me, in the way of tank designing and constructing.

Ah, and the tank will ideally be 30" long, to allow me to use my current light, though even that isn't a dealbreaker.