Building a sump - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 04:48 AM Thread Starter
Nerd Alert.

PTrader: (74/100%)
Building a sump

Thought I might build a sump for my new 75g (See signature). I would be using a 20g tall tank with bio-balls and stuff....

I am a newb with filters and plan on doing some research tomorrow on this...in the mean-time:

What will I need?
Pump?
Overflow?
Will I need to drill holes into my tank? I don't really want to do that....
Is this tank to small?
Is it worth it or should I just go for a canister?

I want a sump to say I do have one, and because they are more effective and provide more water volume.

Thanks!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

RAOK CLUB #12
Wabi-kusa Pimp #1
"99% of the time, a fish tank with plants will fail. Once you start a dedicated planted tank with fish, then you begin to succeed." - Geniusdudekiran
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 05:07 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (0/0%)
theres 2 ways to do this

you can drill the tank and do it that way
or you can not drill the tank and use an overflow box

i personally would drill the tank or not use a sump all together and stick with a canister.

-SF Giants WS champs-
Haters gonna Hate
post #3 of 26 (permalink) Old 10-05-2010, 06:03 AM
Banned

PTrader: (21/100%)
Ive heard bad news about HOB over flow boxes and power outages.

Get the tank drilled or forget about it IMO.

As far as tank size, the 20g tall would be perfect for a sump for the 75g.
Is it alot of work? It is to get it all up and running.

Sean

90g- 4x54w T5HO, Pressurized CO2, XP2 & XP4, Hydor ETH 300w

125g- African Mbuna,Haps, Peacock community tank
x2 Rena XP4s, Hydor ETH 300w, 4x39w Coralife T5NO

Filstar PIMP #165

In the making...15+ more tanks.
Ranging from 5 gallons to 40 gallons.