• 2 Post By PlantedRich
  • 2 Post By Khua
  • 2 Post By jellopuddinpop

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-14-2017, 08:08 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Co2 reactor design

As an engineer, I felt it was a must to build my own .... question for anyone who has built one - would putting a access plug at the bottom (to clean, add/remove bioballs, etc) cause a significant disruption in flow? I could also fashion a diverter and attach to backside of plug to make sure the most of the flow is deflected into the 90 degree bend -> hose barb. I figure any little turbulence at the bottom might also help chop up any bubbles trying to get out.

Running a Eheim 2213 into a 20H tank, which is already a lot of flow, so not too worried if I lose a little.

Also - what's the best way to size it for a given tank size. Is 2" pipe overkill for a 20H? - I've got around 16-18" of vertical room in the stand to mount it. But want to make it big enough for the eventual tank upgrade

Forgive my horrid MSPaint skills:
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-14-2017, 09:29 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (2/100%)
I cannot say that I have seen it as the reactors I build are opaque but there is good evidence that where and how the CO2 enters is somewhat critical. Many do report they get noise of splashing water and there is almost always a common change they have made to the original Grigg's which works so well. Rex Grigg's felt it was important enough to design/figure a way to avoid putting the CO2 in at the side of the water flow.
Original design?
https://rotalabutterfly.com/rex-grigg/diy-reactor.htm