Do I need a drop checker with DIY CO2? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-25-2010, 01:58 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
Do I need a drop checker with DIY CO2?

I am new to the planted tank hobby and have started two tanks this year. One tank is 15 gal and the second tank is 5.5. Iím using one 2 liter bottle of DIY CO2 in both tanks. The 15 gal uses two 14w fluorescent bulbs. The 5.5 uses the 27W Hampton Bay light.

From what Iíve read on this forum, DIY CO2 production can be inconsistent. It also seems improbable that I will harm my fish with DIY CO2. If the above statements are true, are there good reasons for using a drop checker with DIY CO2?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-25-2010, 02:16 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (2/100%)
A drop checker will help you see how efficiently you diffusing the CO2 and could help you decide when to replenish the yeast and sugar mix. Make sure you use 4 KDH water in the drop checker though. Often instructions will tell you to use tank water in the DC and that will usually give you erroneous readings.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-25-2010, 03:39 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hbosman View Post
A drop checker will help you see how efficiently you diffusing the CO2 and could help you decide when to replenish the yeast and sugar mix. Make sure you use 4 KDH water in the drop checker though. Often instructions will tell you to use tank water in the DC and that will usually give you erroneous readings.

I thought that bps in my bubble counter and the stream of bubbles from the diffuser would notably decrease (or cease altogether) when the CO2 production became low. And, it would be time to replenish the sugar/yeast concoction, when this occurred.