3Likes
  • 2 Post By Hoppy
  • 4 Post By Olskule

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-12-2016, 03:39 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (1/100%)
Stand strength

I built this stand for a 10 gal and I am doing some rework to use it for a 25 gal acrylic I am redoing . The stand is made of 3/4 inch plywood . The top , bottom , middle shelf and all sides are glued and screwed together . I had not thought about it till my wife asked if it was going to hold the bigger tank . I think it will be fine , but now second guessing myself so I thought I would ask you guys . I am an over builder so want to be sure . I know the 25 will be lighter tank wise , but still be 200lbs or so . I figure the 10 was a 100lbs or more . Oh , it is 38" H X 12" D X 29" W .

Last edited by Leeatl; 03-11-2017 at 04:49 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-12-2016, 04:02 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (3/100%)
does it feel solid when you sit on it? how about with you and your wife both? I'm sure with 3/4 plywood it's plenty strong.The commercial stands are usually supported by 1/2 ( or less) particle board,and I haven't heard of any failures with those.

You already have those 2 shelves ,which will help prevent racking.I've put 29's on less

MTS? no,I just need one more tank...
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-12-2016, 01:44 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

Thanks . I would say that her and I and you could sit on it no problem . I just needed a second opinion . I tend to overthink things at times .

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 07-12-2016, 01:54 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (17/100%)