[WIP] Automated Aquarium - Raspberry Pi (Web, Live Data, Data Log) - The Planted Tank Forum
 2Likes
  • 4 Post By N-Gen

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-04-2016, 03:19 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
[WIP] Automated Aquarium - Raspberry Pi (Web, Live Data, Data Log)

Hello everyone, first post and I figured I could start with some yummy stuff. This will be a long post and I do love to write in detail so buckle up.

First a little bit of background info, I'm a 25 year old software developer from a tiny island in the Mediterranean Sea called Malta. I've been fishkeeping since 2010 and while my planted tanks were nothing special I always enjoyed them. I currently have 5 tanks, a 180L community tank, a 40L shrimp tank, a 40L guppy tank, an 80L tank housing a Mississippi Map turtle and an ~80L tank which is the one this project is based on.

So let's get to it. The idea is to have a way to monitor and have historic data about the tank parameters while also having automation with the possibility of manually changing parameters.

Please note that this project is currently in progress and things might change every now and then. Some data/information might also be incomplete or missing for the time being. The code will be released once I'm happy with it and you will be able to do whatever you like with it although this project might take some time to be fully completed because of other priorities I have at the moment.

This tank will be housing plants (of course) and a variety of shrimp which will be rehomed into it from the 40L.

An obligatory picture of the initial stages follows (a bit messy for now):