Using PC cooling parts? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-17-2010, 05:40 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (4/100%)
Using PC cooling parts?

I was checking out some of the nifty computers on a modding forum last night and started wondering two things:

1. Has anyone tried tricking out their support equipment and flaunting it instead of just hiding it behind the tank or in the stand?

2. Has anyone tried using PC water cooling parts for an aquarium? It seems like you could use the components off the shelf to make really nice modular canister filters and CO2 reactors with "zero leak" quick disconnects.

It's probably been done to death and being a newb I just haven't seen it.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-17-2010, 06:04 AM
Planted Member

PTrader: (14/100%)
It can easily be done and I'm sure someone has, but no it hasn't been beaten to death....not nearly close. In fact I've never seen a post of someone tricking out an aquarium. I used to toy around a lot with overclocking and played with everything from extreme air cooling all the way to building custom compressor powered, single phase changing, sub-zero units. Those fittings are expensive...that alone will keep it from being main stream in this hobby.

Though in your situation, I don't think there's any other way to go!!

post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-17-2010, 09:43 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (76/94%)
Further, a great deal of the heat exchangers seem to be copper based, and whether they will leach a significant amount or not, it is there.

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-17-2010, 10:24 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (14/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robotguy View Post