Is it possible to make a fish-safe mold and casting of a piece of wood? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-10-2010, 02:41 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Send a message via AIM to thedancingemu Send a message via MSN to thedancingemu
Is it possible to make a fish-safe mold and casting of a piece of wood?

There's a beautiful chunk of root in the woods behind my boyfriend's house, with a little trimming it would be a perfect background for my 125 gallon fish tank, the only problem is, it's extremely heavy, plus i think it's probably a softwood.

My question is, would it be possible for me to make a mold and casting of this thing that would be safe to use in my aquarium? I'm assuming it's possible, but I have no experience with mold making so I don't even know where to start looking. Any advice, or links to information on this subject matter would be much appreciated.

I know I can make a foam carving, but this piece of wood I'm looking at has so much character to it, I'd really hate to use anything else.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-10-2010, 03:42 AM
Planted Member

PTrader: (1/100%)
If it's extremely heavy, and wood, it would probably float, or be on the borderline of something that would float. Therefore you'd need to make a replica out of something just as heavy to ensure that it does not float, unless you somehow made it hollow and allowed water into it.

Make a mold out of plaster of paris or whatever. Make the replica out of plaster of paris or concrete or whatever. Paint it to color, then paint it with epoxy to make it inert (The clown puke gravel is epoxy coated to make it inert).

I think it would end up shiney, I'm not sure if steel wooling epoxy to make it matte would end up looking well.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-10-2010, 03:51 AM