sch 80 bulkheads - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-15-2016, 03:36 PM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (3/100%)
sch 80 bulkheads

Planning an external bean. Since it has to support the weight of the external box, I'm thinking about going with sch80. I know they are thicker but..
Can you use plain ole white PVC from home depot with it? Does it glue up the same?
I have zero knowledge beyond the basics of PVC pipes! so any tips and tricks would be appreciated!

+++++++++++++++++++
Just started Nano

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

++++++++++++++++++++
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-15-2016, 03:57 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Yes you can but it requires a different glue then what you pickup at home depot for sch40 (regular pvc). And even with the glue only sometimes can I mix it as the inner diameter of sch80 is sometimes smaller as its so thick (which they account for in the sch80 pipes). But I used to mix it all the time on my old reefs. Not recommended but I did it anyways. I forgot what the glue was called but it was clearly labeled for sch80 and bonds to sch40.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2500 gallon koi pond
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-15-2016, 05:25 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (12/100%)
I've always used Rain or Shine blue PVC glue. I've glued sch 80 and sch 40 pipe together, along with ABS. I've never had leaks, but it hasn't really been tested for years and years. I will say, my local water utility company uses nothing but Rain or Shine PVC glue and that is why I chose it.

There is specific glue that I've seen. I think the internal fitting diameter and exterior pipe diameter is the same across pipes.

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-15-2016, 07:30 PM
Pixel Prestidigitator

PTrader: (10/100%)