The Planted Tank Forum banner

Photo gear

4K views 24 replies 10 participants last post by  Asteroid 
#1 ·
What are people using to photograph their aquariums?

I'm an amateur wildlife and landscape photographer, my gear consists of a Canon 7D, a Canon 7D MKII, Tamron 100-400mm, Canon 15-85mm and a Tokina 100mm macro. I have a remote flash setup, and a macro flash ring also. I'll try the Tokina macro lens when I get my aquarium set up in a couple weeks.

#3 ·
either of your 7D's and the macro should work well for photographing fish. Your macro flash may not be helpful since much of the light might bounce off the glass obscuring the fish. A good overhead aquarium light with all other light sources outside of the aquarium off should work the best Set the camera to aperture priority with a narrow aperture (F8-F22) The narrow aperture will increase focus death of field. Then use a iso sufficiently high enough so that fish motion will not blur the fish. You shouldn't have to buy anything to get good results.

#4 · (Edited)
+1
I put the flash on top of the tank, actually two flashes with diffusers, arrange the flashes so the light bounce inside the fish tank and leave no shadow area.
I normally set everything manual, cover the windows and make a dark room, only leave enough nature/tank light to see clear enough through the viewfinder. The actual source of light depends solely on the flashes. The shutter speed normally set long enough to cover the actual exposure which is 1/250 according to the flashes, then I pick an ISO, take several shots at different narrow aperture, settle on the best for full tank shot.

If my subject is the fish, I choose bigger aperture and use a Tamron 180mm macro(PITA, slow and dull focus in the dark).

I never use back drop, the background is naturally dark because the flashes only cover inside the tank.

What are people using to photograph their aquariums?