Photo gear - The Planted Tank Forum
 26Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 09-22-2019, 02:33 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Photo gear

What are people using to photograph their aquariums?

I'm an amateur wildlife and landscape photographer, my gear consists of a Canon 7D, a Canon 7D MKII, Tamron 100-400mm, Canon 15-85mm and a Tokina 100mm macro. I have a remote flash setup, and a macro flash ring also. I'll try the Tokina macro lens when I get my aquarium set up in a couple weeks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 09-22-2019, 09:52 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (1/100%)
Sony A7iii

Macro using neewer 16+10mm macro extension with kinko achromat +5 diopter on a 50mm 1.8.

Simpl but effective.
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 09-22-2019, 11:31 PM
Banned

either of your 7D's and the macro should work well for photographing fish. Your macro flash may not be helpful since much of the light might bounce off the glass obscuring the fish. A good overhead aquarium light with all other light sources outside of the aquarium off should work the best Set the camera to aperture priority with a narrow aperture (F8-F22) The narrow aperture will increase focus death of field. Then use a iso sufficiently high enough so that fish motion will not blur the fish. You shouldn't have to buy anything to get good results.
Oughtsix likes this.

post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old 09-23-2019, 07:06 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (90/98%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surf View Post