Howdy From The Windy West - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 12-21-2017, 04:46 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Cool Howdy From The Windy West

Hello All, Newbie here hoping to learn a bunch and contribute where I can (probably not anytime too soon.

I have been keeping FW tanks for a few years and currently have:

75g community: Kribensis, Australian Rainbows, Lace Catfish, 2 African Leaf fish, 2 Angelfish, Zebra Loaches, a couple BNs.

35g Tall community with several Juvenile Angels, Neon Tetras, Skirted Tetras, Gold Nugget Pleco, Zebra Loach and couple of Brown Loaches.

16g Wide with a nice group of Red Wag Platys, 2 juvenile Angels, couple of Red Eye Tetras, couple Pristellas and a Zebra loach.

10g & 15g QTs going and a 5g Fry Tank (currently housing 9x 3 week old Hybrid BN Plecos).

All tanks have been stable for at least a year and parameters consistently Am=0, NO2=0, NO3=20, Ph7.8, Kh150.

Have tried a variety of plants in all the main tanks with limited success. Sooooo ......... today I acquired another 75g with the express plan of putting up a successful planted tank. I want to stay low tech and relatively low maintenance. Today I also acquired a bunch of Java Fern, some kind of a Sword plant and a few plants that I haven't identified yet. These all came from a fella that is an absolute wizard (Hmm.... his name is Merlin ...no ... really) with aquaria, both FW and SW. With the holidays upon us, weather concerns (snow coming for the next couple days) and ensuring the tank is sound, I figure I've got a couple weeks before I'll actually have the tank located and ready to start the build.

Bottom line is I will be doing quite a bit of research on substrate, lighting, ferts, stocking, etc and seeking the input of the gurus in this group. Thanks in advance for all the help I'm sure I'll get along the way.

Rok55
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 12-24-2017, 01:50 PM