How do we all do this frustrating task? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-22-2020, 02:27 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
How do we all do this frustrating task?

What methods do people use to collect trimmings after a trim, especially of a carpet, Iím finding it very frustrating to collect them all.

I find it all gets stuck to the glass & I can never get it all.

Iíve tried a net, comb, toothbrush, algae pad, kitchen roll, Iím at wits end here, help!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-22-2020, 07:58 PM
Algae Grower

Quote:
Originally Posted by BS3915 View Post
What methods do people use to collect trimmings after a trim, especially of a carpet, Iím finding it very frustrating to collect them all.

Iíve tried a net, comb, toothbrush, algae pad, kitchen roll, Iím at wits end here, help!

I am just getting started so probably should be the last person giving any advice. That being said, somewhere in the more-than-I-can-count videos I've watched I think someone showed a good water change as the perfect opportunity to clean up trimmings.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-22-2020, 11:41 PM
Planted Member

You can also use a plug-in surface skimmer temporarily while it collects everything (assuming your carpet trimmings float).

My Tank Journal:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-23-2020, 06:23 PM
Wannabe Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by BS3915 View Post

If you have foating plants pull any you want to keep out before doing the trimming.

When you trim it all floats up, use a net to get everything you can.

Then do a water change most of the remaining will cling to the sides.

Use a paper towel (I guess kitchen roll?) to clean them off the glass.

Use net again.

Refill tank.

Use net again.

Tada.