Is My Driftwood Rotting? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-10-2020, 06:49 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Exclamation Is My Driftwood Rotting?

Over a week ago, I bought a piece of driftwood specifically for use in my planted tank that I am yet to build.
I can't boil it, because I don't have a pot that's big enough because this piece of driftwood is almost 20 inches long. So, I was told to soak it in a bucket for a few weeks to make sure it sinks and doesn't release tannins in my tank.
It has currently been soaking for 5 days and I have changed the water in the bucket multiple times.
Today, I noticed that the driftwood smells funky and is softening in a few spots.
Is it rotting? I'm super confused because it was labeled specifically for use in an aquarium, so it shouldn't be rotting.
I'm completely new to putting driftwood in my aquariums because the only other tank I had was decorated by those plastic ornaments from PetSmart, so I'm open to any suggestions or information that you guys might have.
Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-10-2020, 07:10 PM
snails are your friend

PTrader: (13/100%)
I've gotten many a bad odor when soaking wood, just keep refreshing it until the odor is gone. Mopani rarely does this, but I've got spiderwood in a bucket right now that smells like rotten eggs if I don't water change it every few days. How long it takes depends on the wood mass and how aged it was. Soft spots are concerning though.

Nothing good happens fast in an ecosystem.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-10-2020, 07:28 PM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Ridge Reef View Post