New 10 Gallon Planted, Need Advice - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old 01-04-2010, 03:56 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (2/100%)
New 10 Gallon Planted, Need Advice

Hello all I am fairly new to aquascaping and I am trying to do a cheap setup if possible.
I got the tank, light hood, filter, and heater all for free so I'm trying to stay cheap.
I just finished planting my ten gallon with a betta and here are the plants inside.

Dwarf Hairgrass
Dwarf Baby Tears 'HC'
Banana Plant
Micro Sword
Dwarf Sag
Dwarf Hygro

The substrate is eco-complete and is about two and a half inches deep. I have a couple of questions that hopefully can get answered soon so my plants can flourish and live.

1. How much light do I need for the plants to carpet/spread? I currently have a GE Aqua Fresh and Saltwater 15W bulb and I was wondering if that is enough for the plants to spread?
2. Is the filter really needed, I heard the current from filter can be dangerous to a Betta.
3. Do any of these plants need any fertilization, and if so what is the cheapest? Tablets? Any brand specifically?
4. Can the Dwarf HC, Hairgrass, and Sword spread into a carpet without fertilization?
5. Now that there is a lot more hiding spaces can my Betta live with a cherry shrimp and an otto?
6. I just ordered a nano CO2 diffuser, will that be enough to keep these plants alive?

Here is a pic! I will be checking on this log once a day and a new pic will come once a week. Thank you.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC_0106.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	112.7 KB
ID:	17315  

Last edited by chumblaka; 01-04-2010 at 03:58 AM. Reason: Remove a extra picture.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 30 (permalink) Old 01-04-2010, 04:06 AM
Fresh Fish Freak

PTrader: (70/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by chumblaka View Post