40G Long Not so High Tech tank (56K Warning) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-30-2009, 07:53 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (4/100%)
Send a message via AIM to cannonj22
40G Long Not so High Tech tank (56K Warning)

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time really attempting a dedicated journal. I have been on this site looking at posts and benefiting a great deal from the information that everyone supplies from their experiences and thought it was finally time for me to share my own attempt.

I have a 40 Gallon "Long" Tank 48" x 12" x 13" that I have had for several years but have always been kind of frustrated with the lack of space in it (depth, front to back). Obviously the best way to circumvent this problem would be to purchase a larger aquarium with more depth, but that wasn't in the cards for me. So I decided that i was going to maximize the amount of space in the tank, by removing all of the equipment. Plus I thought it would be a really fun project (I was right).

Here are some of the specs. 48" x 12" x 13" Nominally 40 Gallons
Mineralized top soil substrate
AH supply 2 x 55W PC retrofit kit
Ocean Clear canister filter, powered by a mag drive 500GPH (at 0 static head) pump

I drilled the back of the tank in four places. Initially my plan was to drill the bottom, but after removing the substrate that was in there initially I found there was a sticker in bright orange that read "TEMPERED GLASS DO NOT DRILL".

Here are some pictures.

FTS

Plumbing underneath

Left side plumbing

Right side plumbing - and split flow for mazzei injector. Please let me know your thoughts on this part in particular if you have any.

Back of tank

Anyway, please let me know what you think. I'm not sure what livestock or even what plants are going to go in it yet so I'm open to suggestions.

Thanks,

Joe
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 12-30-2009, 08:03 PM
Planted Tank Guru