Fluval Edge ... First Planted Tank ... - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 12-27-2009, 05:49 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (11/100%)
Fluval Edge ... First Planted Tank ...

Hello Everyone.

My Name is Hector, and this is my first attempt at a Planted tank.

My girl bought me the Fluval Edge for Christmas, and thanks to her I can finally try planting HC in a tank and hopefully move onto bigger and better things/tanks.

I am VERY new at this, so please forgive any silly questions or any wrong decisions that have been made, and be sure that I will quickly fix any mistakes for the sake of the Plant life or inhabitants!

I went out and bought Seachem's Fluorite Black Sand substrate and washed and rinsed, surprisingly it cleaned up pretty well and pretty quickly.

I have not gotten any lights just yet but I will be ordering some replacement bulbs tomorrow for proper photosynthesis. I saw a thread on the Fluvals here so thanks to those guys!

Currently my tank will be an HC only tank with some shrimp. I won't be using any Co2 just yet. As for Ferts, I am not sure if I should use Excel or any other type of fert as I am currently growing the HC Emersed. Perhaps adding some Excel to a spray bottle would be a good idea?

My current worry is the length of the HC that I have. Some are as long as 3 1/2 - 4 inches long. I wanted to know if perhaps cutting them down in half would allow me to plant more or would it be useless being that they wouldn't have a root/runner coming out of the cut portion. Will they grow one eventually? I really don't want really long HC.

What should I expect in the coming weeks since the HC was immersed and now is being grown Emersed, basically will I be seeing a lot of brownish tips or anything like that?