Giraffa's 20l (first planted tank) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-15-2016, 09:51 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Giraffa's 20l (first planted tank)

Hi all,

First planted tank -- 20l. It's been up and running for about a week now, so just waiting out the cycle and being patient with a low bioload.

Here's a list of the equipment and livestock (what I plan for fish at least). I'm new to plants, so suggestions are more than welcome (for fish too). I want to stick with South American plants for the most part, although I have always loved Anubias so I caved on that.

I keep the tank at 80.5 degrees roughly. The filter is packed with biomedia (500ml of matrix, which is rated for 50g) because I want to make sure the tank is super stable (I eventually want to add a pair of German blue rams). Also a bit worried about the hardness of my water. Doing 50/50 RO/DI and tap at the moment... thoughts?

Equipment:
filter: Aquaclear 70 with inTank custom filter basket
media: 500ml Seachem matrix, filter floss
heater: Cobalt neotherm 75w heater
lighting: Finnex 24/7
substrate: 20lbs Caribsea eco-complete

Livestock (current and planned):
6 rummynose tetras (planning to do 10 rummynoses total)
10 cardinal tetras (none added yet -- probably next month after cycle)
2 German blue rams (none added yet -- going to let the tank run for a few months to make sure it's well established)

2 Anubias nana
2 Amazon swords

Dosing:
Flourish (twice a week)
Seachem Stability (just for the cycle)

Parameters:
Hardness: 300
Alkalinity: 120
pH: 7.2

Bump: And some photos...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Tank1.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	152.8 KB
ID:	575601  

Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 01-15-2016, 10:42 PM
Planted Tank Guru

That's too much light for those anubias. They will be covered in algae in no time.