10g Rimless Vertical Cube - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-11-2009, 10:41 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Talking 10g Rimless Vertical Cube

First off, let me thank everyone on this forum for posting their experiences with setting up new tanks - without your help I would never have dared to cut so many corners.

This is my first aquarium. I've been itching to set up a tank for about three years now and finally I'm in a position where I have enough time, space and money to make it happen.

Originally I wanted to put together a riparium. I've seen some amazing, absolutely inspiring things done with a bit of foam, a plastic cup and some suction cups. So when I went camping out along the Hoh river this summer I decided to collect some rocks and wood and see what I could come up with.

When I got home I tried a few mockups. This piece of driftwood was perfect but the tank was too short ... while it turned out that the wood was unusuable due to some pesky sap deposits, the idea of a tall tank stuck in my mind. After a long, futile search for a new 15g tank I ended up buying a nice 10G "tall cube" from a shop in the international district. The tank is roughly 12"x12"x18" (tall) with 1/4" glass. It was pre-drilled for standpipe and return, cost me $56 out the door including the bulkheads.

I had some trouble finding a suitable stand - I wanted something tall enough to lift the tank up and into the room, so it would be closer to eye level but still short enough to work on without a ladder. I also wanted a sump, and the tank is drilled, and it couldn't be any wider than 30" or deeper than 20" and and and ....