30 Gal Hex Waterfall - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-26-2009, 06:17 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (7/100%)
30 Gal Hex Waterfall

I recently was given this Oceanic 30 Gallon Hex for Christmas, and I've been throwing ideas around as to how I'm going to set it up. I really have yet to see any impressive hex tanks, so I'm hoping to create one. I'm still pretty new to planted tanks, but I think I can make this one stand out. So far, I have the tank and stand with about 7-8 liters of ADA Amazonia. I'm planning on filling it up about 2/3, and putting together some sort of driftwood stream-waterfall near the top, running into the water. I'm not sure if I should hang the driftwood off the side of the tank, or build some sort of support up from the bottom. I'm thinking some sort of tall thick stalked stem plant up the middle, and other various plants around the bottom. I'd like to carpet the bottom with UG, and put some dark slate-like rocks across the back. I'm planning on lighting it with a metal halide (wattage still undecided). Pressurized CO2, Eheim canister. I may be a bit long winded here, but I'm working on my plan here, and the funds seem to be falling together well, despite Christmas time. Any input would be greatly appreciated, namely on scaping, wattage, and which Eheim I should pick up. Thanks in advance!

My Sketch

The Tank
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-26-2009, 12:58 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (10/100%)
Good idea! Will you be having eny emersed plants?

"My next hobby is going to be tearing up $100 bills while simultaneously banging my head against a wall and flooding my basement."
"Ask not what the hobby can do for you, but what you can do the the hobby" - ScapeFu

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Wabi-Kusa Pimp #3
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 11-26-2009, 03:58 PM